MASH Inc

MASH Inc

Habesha-a true Ethiopian experience

with 4 comments

If I didn’t count my fortuitous airlift from the killing fields of Eldoret earlier in the year, I’d be inclined to name last Saturday as the best day so far in the year. Yours truly was out once and for all to understand what all the hype about Ethiopian food is. You have to understand me, I really hate fads, and no where else is this culture of fads more prevalent than Nairobi itself.

 

So under the guise of treating a beauty to her preferred cuisine, I set out to debunk this latest of fads. We strode in to the grounds, located in Hurlingham (just b4 the junction of Elgeyo Marakwet road and Argwings Kodhek road 4 those who might get lost just like I did), to the most wonderful of aromas…we could smell our way to the kitchen literally!!!

 

Once inside, you can choose to either have your meal “al-fresco” (outdoors) or within the premises. I recommend al-fresco just so that those of you not used to incense burning don’t have to be bothered every time they do that.

 

The menu is quite impressive and different (but then again that’s why I went there), though vegetarians would struggle since as far as I could tell there was only one combination that was wholly vegetarian.

Spicy food is not my cup of tea (for lack of a better expression), so it was still a surprise (ok not a surprise coz women have a way of twisting your arm without actually raising theirs) that I found myself there.

Moving on swiftly to the menu, for the meat-lovers, there is plenty to choose from, from raw (yes raw) meat called “kitfo” to “shekla tibs”-the equivalent nyama choma.

 

I suggest that you order for juice or whatever poisons that tickle your fancy as you go through the menu. Habesha experience is a classic case of “the more the merrier”, since y’all can order varied items on the menu and proceed to partake of the different bitings since you will eat from the same platter. Being three, enough to make merry, we proceeded to order each a different item: I went for the “Shekla tibs”, while the missus went for “dor wat” (chicken stew) and our friend the “key wat” (meat stew).

All items are accompanied by “Injeera”(Ethiopian chapati if you like).Once offered the large tray, proceed to lay out the Injeera neatly and then pour the various sauces on to the platter since this is the way the food is traditionally taken. The food is surprisingly served in large quantities and some had to be packed to go.

 

All in all, I‘m glad to report that the place lived up to its expectation though their amenities would do with a little improvement.

I believe its a worthy indulgence,fad or no fad….

Written by mashinc

July 11, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice article, start ur own gastro de nom. but seriously ever thot of writing for a magazine?

    Miano

    July 14, 2008 at 8:05 am

  2. thanx..i’ve actually re-read the article n its pretty decent i guess..writing for a magazine?? may be in the mould of “eleanor kigen” in the business daily…but i’ll try act on ur advice though gastro de nom may prove to be a step too far…

    mashinc

    July 14, 2008 at 11:05 am

  3. Habesha is indeed great. My love affair with Ethiopian cuisine goes way back. It’s one of my all time favourites. I have to control myself, however, since I live walking distance from Habesha. Otherwise I’d be there every night!

    egm

    July 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

  4. Brilliant!

    Keycledreple

    August 3, 2008 at 1:05 pm


Leave a Reply

